Caribbean Football Association Formed

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

Inauguration tonight

BCFA ExecutivesBCFA Executives: Four top officers of the British Caribbean Football Association, formed on Sunday night last at Sabina Park, are (L to R): Mr. Eric James, secretary-treasurer; Mr. Winston Meeks, 1st vice-president; Mr. Ken Galt, president, and the Hon. D. H. Ward, M.L.C., 2nd vice-president.

FOOTBALL history was made at Sabina Park late Sunday night when delegates from Jamaica, Trinidad, Barbados, British Guiana, Grenada and St. Vincent approved the constitution which established the British Caribbean Football Association — the first controlling body for football in the British West Indies.

Mr. Ken Galt, head of the Trinidad Football Association, was elected president of the BCFA, and Mr. Winston Meeks 1st vice-president. Mr. Meeks holds the top position in the Jamaica Football Association.

Elected 2nd vice-president was the Hon. Dighton H. Ward, M.L.C., of Barbados. The key position of honorary secretary-treasurer went to Mr. Eric James, who has been secretary of the Trinidad FA for a continuous period of 15 years.

Trinidad, Jamaica and British Guiana will have three representatives each on the British Caribbean Football Association, Barbados two representatives, and Grenada
and St. Vincent one each.

The Hon. Franklyn Baron, M.L.C., of Dominica, a delegate to the Standing Federation Committee meeting starting at the UCWI this morning, had discussions with officials of the newly-formed body yesterday with a view to Dominica joining the BCFA.

An inauguration ceremony to mark the formation of the British Caribbean FA will be held at King's House tonight, starting at 8.15 o'clock.