Jamaica In CFP League

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, Oct. 23, CANA

The Caribbean football professional league will be inaugurated officially on June 3, 1979 the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) announced here tonight.

Barbados, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Jamaica, Netherland Antilles, Martinique, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago have indicated willingness to participate and efforts will be made to include Venezuela and Cuba, the CFU said in a statement from a just concluded executive meeting.

The CFU inaugurated in March to further the development of regional football had appointed Trinidad's Patrick Raymond to prepare a constitution and formulate plans for introduction of the league.

In its statement the union said it was planned to start the league with one division, playing two rounds of competition on a home and away basis. An annual all star classic will be staged in September and next season the teams will be selected from north (Barbados, Guadeloupe, Jamaica and Martinique) against a south team (Guyana, Netherland Antilles Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela) the CFU announced.