S.A.F.L. To Start Season On July 15

Date Published: 
Trinidad Guardian

Trinidad Guardian Correspondent.

FYZABAD, June 26.— The Southern Amateur Football League held an annual general meeting on Friday, and decided to open the season on July 15, with the 1943 Shield winners—U.B.O.T.—opposing a team representing "The Rest," the proceeds of which will be donated to the Southern Caribbean Forces Welfare Fund.

The Secretary's report covering the 1943 season, recorded that the usual interest manifested in the League's games, was regretfully not maintained, due chiefly to the fact that only three teams took entry in the competitions.

But despite this fact, the League registered their first lien on the Hayward Cup, by defeating S.A.F.A. 4—1.

Every effort will be made, however, to bring in more contestants this season, and already Brighton F.C. and First Battalion have signified their intention of taking part.

Officers elected to guide the League for the 1944 season are as follows: President: Capt. R. A. Adamson; Vice-President: Messrs. W. Goddard and J. B. Scott, Secretary: Mr. K. V. Galt, Treasurer: Mr. Arden F. Prescod.

Fixtures Committee: Messrs. J. Bevan, C. A. Jack and J. B. Scott.

Representatives to the T.A.F.A. will be President, along with Messrs. W. Goddard and G. Nixon, while Messrs. Scott and T. A. Vander Meersch were re-elected to serve as Auditors.