East St. George Soccer Has New President

Date Published: 
Trinidad Guardian

Sunday Guardian Correspondent.

CUREPE, June 23 — Mr. Henry Clarke, last year's second vice-president of the East St. George Amateur Football Association , was elected president for the 1944 season last night in one of the most hotly contested elections the association has witnessed for the past few years.

Mr. J. B. Swift, who was secretary-treasurer for a number of years, and Mr. A. H. Doyle, were unanimously elected secretary-treasurer and assistant secretary respectively.

Mr. Clarke after being installed to his office thanked the representatives for their whole-hearted support and confidence placed by them in the officers elected and hoped that their keenness would help to promote better and keener football this season.

Nine clubs have signified their intention to participate in the forthcoming league's competition.

The following were the officers elected: President, Mr. H. Clarke; 1st vice-president, Mr. H. Achong; 2nd vice-president, Mr. S. Q. Fraser; secretary-treasurer, Mr. J. B. Swift; assistant-secretary, Mr. A. H. Doyle.

The management committee comprised the following: H. Clarke, H. Achong, S. Q. Fraser, J. B. Swift, A. H. Doyle, M. Achong, D. Warner, H. Springer, R. Thompson and C. E. Blaize.