Abrahams likely to head CONCACAF

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

Mr. George Abrahams, the 57-year-old president of the Jamaica Football Federation and third vice-president of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Football Federations (CONCACAF), has been picked by a recent caucus to take over as president of CONCACAF at the confederation's annual general meeting in Mexico City on Thursday, Friday and Saturday of this week.

Abrahams flew to Mexico City on Sunday to attend a meeting of the CONCACAF executive, which will be addressed today and tomorrow by Sir Stanley Rous, president of FIFA the body governing world soccer, and Dr. Helmut Kaser, the secretary of FIFA.

The Jamaica Football Federation's first vice-president, Mr. Tino Barovier, will fly to Mexico City tomorrow or Thursday at his own expense to be Jamaica's delegate at the general meeting.

A caucus held in Haiti felt strongly that it was time for the Caribbean to gain the leadership of CONCACAF particularly in view of the fact that one-half of the membership of twenty two countries represented Caribbean territories. Abrahams was named as the Caribbean's choice for president with Trinidad's Eric James, currently second vice-president of CONCACAF, as the alternate choice.

Abrahams has recently had to seek leave from his duties as president of the Jamaica Football
Federation on the grounds of ill-health and yesterday one of the overseas delegates to this week's annual CONCACAF general meeting said that they would have to hold another caucus in Mexico City to ascertain proof from the JFF president that he had beyond doubt regained the necessary physical resilience to undertake the increasingly onerous duties of a CONCACAF president.

The Caribbean CONCACAF members are Jamaica, Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Haiti, Netherland Antilles, Puerto Rico, Surinam, Trinidad and the Dominican Republic.

Bermuda and Canada are expected to support the Carbbean choice from the northern group, which includes Mexico and the USA. The Central American group embraces Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Nicaragua and El Salvador.

At the moment the president of CONCACAF is Costa Rica's Joaquin Soria Terrazo and the first vice-president is Haram Sosa of Guatemala.