Trinidad among 59 World Cup entrants

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

ZURICH, Switzerland, Dec. 12 (AP)

FIFTY NINE NATIONS entered the 1966 World Soccer championship so far, three days from the Dec. 15 deadline, the International Soccer Federation announced today.

Fifa said the final list will be published next Monday afternoon.

Divided by regions the following countries have entered the World Soccer Cup so far.

Africa: Algeria, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Libya, Gabon, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa.

South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam.

North, Central and middle America: Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Dutch West Indies, Trinidad, United States.

Asia: North Korea, Phillippines.

Europe: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, England, Finland, France, East and West Germany, Greece, Hungary, Northern Ireland, Eire, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Russia, Wales, Yugoslavia.

Others: Australia.